Klik op het toestaan van cookies om de playlist te beluisteren

Gaudeamus Award 2024


You can now register for the Gaudeamus Award 2024. Composers/creators of any nationality or background who were born after 8 September 1988 may enter their works. Works may already have been performed but must be composed no more than 4 years ago.

We ask you to submit 3 pieces:

1. Your main entry must fit in one of the categories 1/2a/2b/3/4 (see below).
2&3. Two additional pieces to show the breadth of your practice as a composer/creator, that do not have to fit in any of the categories.

If you want to showcase your orchestral work, we provide the option to submit a 4th piece in the extra category Orchestra. This piece will not be performed during the Gaudeamus Festival, but might be selected to be performed by the Residentie Orchestra The Hague during a concert in Amare in The Hague, on a later date after the festival.

A maximum of five composers will be nominated for the Award. The nominees will be part of the Gaudeamus Festival 2024 (4-8 September). On the final night of the festival the winner of the Award will be chosen by an independent jury. The price consists of a commission worth €5,000 for a new composition to be premiered at a future edition of the Gaudeamus Festival. The nominees’ main entries for the competition as well as additional submitted pieces will be performed during the festival. They will also be commissioned to develop a new piece especially for the festival.

Please carefully read the information below and the terms and conditions before submitting!


Music installations, multi- or interdisciplinary works, solo works with or without electronics, or unusual instrumentations; the use of video and / or (live-) electronics is encouraged. Up to 12 musicians/performers everything is possible, but within this category we’re not looking for regular ensemble pieces.


Sensory installation combining aural, tactile, olfactory, and visual elements, to be displayed during the Gaudeamus Festival.


In collaboration with Museum Speelklok. The substantive precondition: an acoustic sound source is important, as is mechanical technology, but the controlling device does not have to be mechanical.


Amplified ensemble, instrumentation to choose from: saxophones (all types), trombone (tenor/alto), piano (keyboard), percussion, violin, clarinet, cello, flute, electric guitar (or electric bass guitar). Electronics are possible.


Acoustic ensemble, instrumentation think of a traditional new music ensemble (from Pierrot ensemble to sinfonietta): flute (+ picc, alto, bass), clarinet (+ bass), oboe, bassoon (cbsn), trumpet, trombone, French horn, tuba, guitar (electric + acoustic), percussion, piano (synth + harmonium), harp, violin, viola, cello, double bass. We are open for experimentation and unusual instrumentations, but might be limited in our resources to stage your piece.

Maximum number of players is 16; the minimum number of players is 6. One (1) soloist is possible. Amplification and electronics are possible.


Orchestra: Residentie Orchestra The Hague

Instrumentation to be selected from: 2 flutes (1 piccolo possible), 2 oboes (1 alt oboe possible), 2 clarinets (1 can be es clarinet or bass clarinet), 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones (1 possible bass trombone), 1 tuba, 1 timpani, 2 percussion, 1 harp, 12 first violins, 10 second violins, 8 violas, 6 celli, 4 double bass.

A maximum of 5 composers will be nominated for the Gaudeamus Award. From all nominated composers the main entry (category piece) will be shortlisted for the competition. Out of the other 2 entries the organization chooses a second piece to be performed. Besides they are commissioned to write a new composition for one of the ensembles in residence. This provides the nominees with an opportunity to demonstrate other aspects of their talents instead of being judged solely on the basis of a single work.

For the 2024 Award, we are thrilled to announce the following jury members: Syrian-Polish composer Zaid Jabri (1975), Belgian composer Maya Verlaak (1990) and English/Berlin-based composer Joanna Bailie (1973). The jury selection will be announced in November 2023.

Academy 2024
In the week before the Gaudeamus Festival (4-8 September 2024), the 5 nominated composers will work with the ensembles on their newly commissioned works and rehearse the selected works during the Gaudeamus Academy. The ensembles in residence for 2024 are Trio Catch from Germany and (musicians from) Asko|Schönberg & Ensemble Klang from The Netherlands. Members of the jury will facilitate discussions between composers and musicians. The Gaudeamus Academy will be devoted to the composers in the interest of research, reflection, and development, but will also feature meetings and workshops open to the public.

Career Support
After the festival, Gaudeamus will continue to support the nominated composers. Selected works may be performed elsewhere, and composers will be regularly involved in festivals and co-productions with other organizations. The intention is to further the career development of young composers.

Registration fee & accommodation
The registration fee for the competition is € 35. After you are selected, accommodation and participation in the festival are free of charge. Gaudeamus proposes a travel buy out to the participants.

If for any reason, the registration fee is an obstacle that is preventing you from partaking in this call, please contact us via gaudeamusaward@gaudeamus.nl and we will see how we can accommodate you.

If you have any questions about the registration, please contact us via gaudeamusaward@gaudeamus.nl

About the Gaudeamus Award
The annual Gaudeamus Festival focuses on music by young composers. Although the first Gaudeamus Festival (then named Muziekweek), staged shortly after World War II, was devoted to Dutch composers only, the Muziekweek was soon open to composers worldwide. Each year new works by composers are presented, with emphasis on young composers and music pioneers. The Gaudeamus Award was first awarded in 1957 to Peter Schat. The Gaudeamus Award, as of 2015, is a commission of € 5,000 for new work, meant as a help in the career of the composer. This commissioned work will premiere in a future edition of Gaudeamus Festival. Since 2014 the festival is preceded by the Gaudeamus Academy. All winners of the Gaudeamus Award are mentioned in the
Gaudeamus Hall of Fame.