playlist: Recordings Gaudeamus Festival 2023 playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

Combine: Landscape Series #1 + Late Night World Premieres #2

Combine 2 concerts on the same day for a competitive price!

20.45-22.00 Landscape Series #1 (Geertekerk)

22.30-23.15 Late Night World Premieres #2 (TivoliVredenburg, Cloud Nine)

Landscape Series #1
How do you capture reality in a piece of music? American composer Chaz Underriner, nominated for the Gaudeamus Award 2017, is fascinated by the Greek concept of ‘mimesis’ – the imitation of reality in art – and by the magical realism of Japanese author Haruki Murakami. In his own work he focuses on landscapes. Instead of the familiar two-dimensional paintings of landscapes, he creates multisensorial works in which he sketches overwhelming worlds by using video, field recordings and live music.

So far Underriner has written five different Landscape pieces, which he composed in such a way that they could be combined in an ambitious audiovisual installation. It will be brought to life for the first time tonight. The young, talented musicians from Ensemble Modelo62, an international ensemble based in The Hague, do not shy away from performing music in unusual settings combined with interdisciplinary experiments. They accepted the challenge and will premiere this spectacular piece tonight.

Late Night World Premieres #2
The Hague quintet Kluster5 couples an unusual combination of instruments with eclectic, flexible sounds. With a violin, a saxophone, percussion, a guitar, and a piano they play everything from contemporary classical music to jazz. They often work with young composers, but they also love to improvise or perform their own pieces. During Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2017 they are the ensemble-in-residence and as such they give two concerts with brand-new compositions, especially written for them by the five nominees of the Gaudeamus Award as part of their nomination.

On Thursday night three of these pieces premiered, this concert contains the last two. A new composition by Greek composer Georgia Koumará completes tonight’s programme and especially for this occasion Cloud Nine has been transformed into a cosy night club.