playlist: playlist
go back

Afterness in the Music of 3 Young Composers

context, talk, music history, Berlin Wall

This event already took place

In his recent book Music after the Fall, critic Tim Rutherford-Johnson introduced the idea of ‘afterness’ as an aesthetic feature of contemporary music that cuts across numerous styles and technical approaches. In this short talk, he explores this idea further in relation to three young composers with recent connections to the Gaudeamus Award: Clara Iannotta (nominee, 2013), Marko Nikodijevic (winner, 2010) and Stefan Prins (jury, 2015).

Tim Rutherford-Johson also hosts the ‘meet the nominees‘ programme.

Photo © Anton Lukoszevieze