Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

Festival / Concert

ADAM Quartet

This concert has already taken place. Click here for our current concert programme.

The young string quartet ADAM combines a love for tradition with great curiosity and individuality. For Gaudeamus Festival 2022 we are pairing them with three equally talented composers: Amarante Nat, Soheil Shayesteh, and David Azaglo. Since their graduation from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, the quartet has been part of the Netherlands String Quartet Academy (NSKA) since 2020. The commissions for Amarante Nat and David Azaglo came about in collaboration with the NSKA for their 20th anniversary, which was celebrated last June. Last year Iranian artist Soheil Shayesteh won the Tera de Marez Oyens Prize at Gaudeamus Festival. As the winner of that prize, he is now writing a new work for kamancheh, string quartet, soprano, and electronics that will be premiered tonight. Finally, ADAM Quartet will play Drop After Drop by the Ukrainian composer Maxim Shalygin, which he composed for Festivals for Compassion.

Photo: Juri Hiensch

Amarante Nat – I listen to the ocean and all I hear is you – with support of Performing Arts Fund NL
Soheil Shayesteh – tba
David Azaglo – Adowa Fantasy – with support of Performing Arts Fund NL
Maxim Shalygin – Drop After Drop

ADAM Quartet: Margot Kolodziej, Hannelore De Vuyst, José Nunes, Renée Timmer
Soheil Shayesteh: kamancheh
Viola Blache: soprano
Rashin Teimouri: live visuals


Tera de Marez Oyens Award
Nederlands Strijkkwartet Academie
Festivals for Compassion