playlist: Recordings Gaudeamus Festival 2023 playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

Hidden Agreements, the universe of Sedje Hémon – Ensemble Modelo62

This concert has already taken place. Click here for our current concert programme.

Ensemble Modelo62, based in The Hague, performs a new programme based around the recently rediscovered work of the Dutch Jewish composer and visual artist Sedje Hémon (1923-2011). Hémon developed a unique method of translating images into sound, and created many paintings from which music scores were derived. When in her eighties she designed a virtual reality museum where her work could be viewed and heard.

Her oeuvre was discovered by Andrius Arutiunian and Marianna Maruyama, who became so inspired by her work that they decided to extend her intellectual legacy in the form of new works. They also granted Hémon’s oeuvre an international podium. During Documenta 14 her paintings/scores were viewed by more than a million visitors in Kassel and Athens.

The Hidden Agreements programme consists of three compositions by Hémon (which Ensemble Modelo62 performed last May for the first time in forty years), and two new ones by Andrius Arutiunian and Marianna Maruyama, who have been inspired by Hémon’s multidisciplinary work method. Themes such as movement, repetitive bodies, virtual reality and digital decay form the core of these new pieces.

With a combination of ambitious, innovative programming and a high standard of performance, Ensemble Modelo62 from The Hague has built up an international reputation in contemporary experimental music.

The name Modelo62 was inspired by the playful precision evoked in the novels of Argentinian writer Cortázar, in which the personages operate independently but also collaborate, in order to form a system that is greater than the sum of its parts.

This dynamic coherence in the ensemble leads to taut, energetic performances that bring the compositions to life and have earned them considerable recognition from both public and press. This is also reflected in the way in which the musicians approach the experiment, with a remarkable openness, giving rise to new ideas and techniques that make use of a wide range of musical styles.

Ensemble Modelo62 conducted by Ezequiel Menalled

Sedje Hémon - Harmonie
Sedje Hémon - Mouvement d'un Adagio
Sedje Hémon - Lignes Ondulatoires
Marianna Maruyama - The Assistants
Andrius Arutiunian - deserted steps

Download the programme notes