Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

Ralph van Raat

Ralph van Raat – 75 years Gaudeamus

This concert has already taken place. Click here for our current concert programme.

Due to the intensified regulations concerning corona, this concert is postponed to a date during the Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2021. This will take place from 8 to 12 September 2021. The new date of this concert will be communicated later.

Gaudeamus is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year! On the 4th of November 1945 founder Walter Maas organised the first concert in Huize Gaudeamus in Bilthoven. 75 years and 2 days later, Gaudeamus and TivoliVredenburg will celebrate this with a concert by Ralph van Raat. The programme browses through the history of the foundation for new music, with brand new music and old favorites.

Karen Tanaka, the Japanese composer who won the Gaudeamus Award in 1987, wrote a sequel to her spectacular piece Techno Etudes for Ralph van Raat. Both the original and the new part are played tonight. Also the Dutch premiere of Martijn Padding’s Huw Accra Hop, two pieces by Tan Dun and music by Heather Pinkham and Joey Roukens.


Karen Tanaka – Techno Etudes 
Tan Dun – C-A-G-E 
Joey Roukens – Roaming Empty Streets 
Martijn Padding – Huw Accra Hop (Ned. première)
Heather Pinkham – Crooked Still 
Tan Dun – The Fire 
Karen Tanaka – Techno Etudes II