playlist: Podcast Curious Ears Season 3 playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist
back to news

Nominees Award 2018

The nominations for the Gaudeamus Award 2018 are announced. Over 336 scores from 43 different countries have been thoroughly studied by an international jury. This year, six young music pioneers are selected for the prestigious composition award: William Kuo, Sebastian Hilli, Lawrence Dunn, Raphaël Languillat, Matthias Krüger and William Dougherty. The Gaudeamus Award is a talent award for young composers under the age of 30. Since the prize was first awarded in 1957, it has established itself internationally as a highly sought after and renowned award for young music pioneers.

During the annual Gaudeamus Music Week in September 2018, several works of the nominated music pioneers will be performed. The festival is a showcase for the six composers, where both the public and the international professional field get a broader view of them and their work. The jury guides the nominees during the rehearsal process and coaches them towards the performances of all their pieces. At the end of the festival the jury selects the winner of the Gaudeamus Award.The Gaudeamus Music Week takes place from Wednesday 5th to Sunday September 9th 2018.

History Gaudeamus Award
Louis Andriessen, Micha Mengelberg and Michel van der Aa were not a day older than 30 when they won the Gaudeamus Award. The internationally renowned prize for promising composers was first awarded in 1957 to 22-year-old Peter Schat. Each year since then, a professional jury selects the most talented composers under 30 from hundreds of submitted scores. The Gaudeamus Award 2017 was awarded to the Dutch music pioneer Aart Strootman.