playlist: Gaudeamus Highlight Selection playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

Talent Development

Gaudeamus presents, organizes, stimulates and supports young music pioneers in their creation of new works. The organization scouts young talent and contributes to its professional development.

Artists in Residence
Gaudeamus strives to create a enduring relationship with music pioneers. By means of several residence programmes, young talent is attached to the organization for an extended period. Gaudeamus thus provides a location for research, a stage and a network. The Nieuwe Makers project organized by the Performing Arts Fund NL provides a two-year residence during which research and the development of an individual identity are paramount. Every year Gaudeamus also appoints a musician who shows innovative talent and ventures off the beaten track and who is living in Utrecht.

Artists-in-residence 2017-2019:

Thanasis Deligiannis

Jerzy Bielski

Musician-in-residence 2017-2018

Maya Fridman

Gaudeamus Award Winner
The winner of the Gaudeamus Award receives more than a commission to compose new works. Winning the award also opens up new networks, and Gaudeamus actively puts the winner in contact with concert venues, ensembles, festivals and stakeholders within the music world, both nationally and internationally. The Gaudeamus Award was first presented in 1957. Hall of Fame

Every year Gaudeamus commissions many young music pioneers to compose new works. In this way the organization not only takes care of the creation of new music, but it is itself a customer, and attracts co-producers. Almost all the commissioned works are premiered during the Gaudeamus Muziekweek, and Gaudeamus subsequently does its utmost to promote repeat performances both at home and abroad.
Gaudeamus also issues commissions in collaboration with international partners including the European Ulysses Network.

Maxim Shalygin – Lacrimosa (Performed by Shapeshift)

Commissions 2018

Aurélie Lierman
Ivan Vukosavljević
Jan-Peter de Graaff
Carmen Vanderveken
Bianca Bongers
Petra Strahovnik
Martijn Comes

Commissions 2017    

Music pioneer
Title Performer(s)/Co-producer
Genevieve Murphy Squeeze Machine International Ensemble Modern Academy
Zeno van den Broek Panauditum SPOR festival
Maxim Shalygin Lacrimosa Shapeshift / November Music
Thanasis Deligiannis RE-FUSE Greek National Opera (Alternative Stage)
Stef Veldhuis ECHO Stichting ECHO
Yannis Kyriakides Music for barges Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, tevens co-producent
Mikołaj Laskowski nog geen titel Nikel Ensemble
Boris Bezemer nog geen titel Nikel Ensemble
Felipe Waller Echo Chambers Nadezda Filippova / Dutch Classical Talent
Bart de Vrees For flute or piano or mandolin or percussion or bassoon or guitar or violin or harp or clarinet or………. Insomnio
Maya Fridman arrangement Schnittke’s Peer Gynt Maya Fridman & Tomoko Mukaiyama
Igor C Silva Plastic Air Trash Panda Collective
Manuel Sanchez Garcia & Georgi Sztojanov VULNUS Fors Seulement
Ethan Braun Excess Frame Kluster 5
Aart Strootman Shambling Emerge – after after party Kluster 5
Ivan Vukosavljevic Stone Skeleton Kluster5
Chaz Underriner Nocturne Series: 8 Kluster5
Sky Macklay Exponential Kluster5
Alexander Khubeev The Codex of Thoughtcrimes Asko|Schönberg
Jan-Peter de Graaff Rimpelingen Asko|Schönberg, tevens co-producent


International Commissions

Music pioneer
Title Performer(s)/Co-producer
Maya Verlaak Song and Dance International Ensemble Modern Academy
Utku Asuroglu This and That International Ensemble Modern Academy
Yukiko Watanabe Nue International Ensemble Modern Academy
Simon Bertrand l’Homme Invisible Utrecht String Quartet / Thorwald Jorgenson
Georgia Koumará Intertwined Peculiarities Kluster5


With support from: