playlist: Gaudeamus Highlight Selection playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist
back to programme

Meditative Guitars

music pioneers, guitar, meditative

This concert has already taken place. Click here for our current concert programme.

Ensemble Klang has strong bonds with Gaudeamus – they are on the festival programme almost every year and played a quivering final concert in 2012 . They also have close ties with the nominees of the Gaudeamus Award 2017. Originally Ivan Vukosavljević wrote The Atlas Slave, his nominated work, especially for Klang for the Spring Festival 2016. Today they will once again perform this flowing piece, based upon Michelangelo’s “non-finito” sculptures. The ensemble has also worked with Ethan Braun on a number of occasions. When Braun was nominated, the idea arose to compose a new work for the ensemble. His work Discipline is also on the programme, a deceptively rectilinear, meditative piece, based on the tuning of the guitar in Joni Mitchells’ Woodstock.

Download here the handout for this concert.

Photo © Ronald Gunawan


Ethan Braun - Suspensions… Broken Chords…
Ethan Braun - Discipline
Ivan Vukosavljević - The Atlas Slave
Mayke Nas - Douze Mains
Neus Kaori - Mercurial Sparks
Zach Dawson - nieuw werk

Ensemble Klang