Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist

New European String Quartet

The four string players of the New European Ensemble also form an outstanding string quartet. They will play two works by composers nominated for the Gaudeamus Award 2024 and one by Zaid Jabri, one of the jury members for the Award. Cem Güven’s half-hour Atmospheric Simulations forms the main part of the concert. Güven leads the listener through three sound worlds: from claustrophobic to a floating lightness to intense and nervous. In Kontaktlos by Beniamino Fiorini, the lack of contact during the corona pandemic is depicted in the use of e-bows, which the musicians use to extract sound from the strings of their instruments without touching them.


Cem Güven - Atmospheric Manipulations
Beniamino Fiorini - Kontaktlos
Zaid Jabri - Prelude and Adagio



New European Ensemble