playlist: Gaudeamus Highlight Selection playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist
back to programme

Club Fluxus: The Chronometer’s Orchestra ft. Matangi Quartet

Composer/conductor Zacharias S. Falkenberg and The Chronometer’s Orchestra combine modern classical music with experimental jazz. In this XL line-up, which by default includes the Matangi Quartet, Falkenberg introduces the listener to a broad range of influences, from Frank Zappa, Soft Machine and Miles Davis to Stravinsky and Ligeti.

Fluxus, which means ‘fluid’ or ‘constantly changing’, is a series in Club Nine. This series focuses on composers, young ensembles and musicians who together showcase the latest developments in contemporary music. Where possible, the composers will be present and will discuss their own work. The small-scale and informal set-up places the audience in very close contact with the performers.

The Chronometer’s Orchestra:
Zacharias S. Falkenberg - conductor, guitar/electronics
Allison Philips - trumpet
René van Haren - trombone
Georgette de Sonnaville - alt sax/flute
Nicolai Fedder - tenor sax
Emilio Tritto - bariton/soprano sax
Philipp Rüttgers - piano
Maarten Zaagman - marimba
Dion Nijland - bass
Yonga Sun - drums

Matangi Quartet:
Maria Paula Majoor - violin
Daniel Torrico Menacho - violin
Karsten Kleiner - viola
Arno van der Vuurst - cello