playlist: Gaudeamus Highlight Selection playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist
back to programme

Opening concert: TEMKO & Slagwerk Den Haag: W.A.L.L

Composer and guitarist Aart Strootman won the Gaudeamus Award in 2017 for his unique and inspiring sound inventions. Winning the Award meant he received a commission to write a brand-new work. During the opening concert of the Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2019 this ambitious work, titled W.A.L.L, will be premiered. It’s a reflection on the return of ‘the wall’ in our politically restless times, with firewalls, Wall Street and American border walls (unconsciously) confront us  with limits. W.A.L.L is a piece for microtonal tube clocks, guitars and glass marimbas, all built by Aart Strootman. 

With these self-built instruments, Strootman builds a wall of unheard, impenetrable sounds, supplemented by abstract visual projections. The piece is performed by the unorthodox trio TEMKO, of which Strootman himself is a member. The trio moves freely between composed music, minimal, ambient, prog rock and improv. The line-up is expanded for the occasion with members of Slagwerk Den Haag and guitar players Hijmans and Harden.

This concert also features in the concert series Club Fluxus. Fluxus, which means ‘fluid’ or ‘constantly changing’, is a series in Club Nine. This series focuses on composers, young ensembles and musicians who together showcase the latest developments in contemporary music. Where possible, the composers will be present and will discuss their own work. The small-scale and informal set-up places the audience in very close contact with the performers.

Club Fluxus Seizoen 2018/2019

Thu 10 Oct 2019 The Chronometer’s Orchestra ft. Matangi Quartet
Thu 14 Nov 2019 Perforator
Thu 16 Jan 2020 But What About
Thur 6 Feb 2020 Amstel Quartet & Keuris Quartet
Thu 5 Mar 2020 Maya Fridman & Diamanda Dramm
Thu 9 Apr 2020 Oerknal

Aart Strootman - guitar
Fred Jacobsson - bass guitar
Ramon Lormans - percussion

Slagwerk Den Haag
Wiek Hijmans - guitar
Pete Harden - guitar

Aart Strootman – W.A.L.L