playlist: Recordings Gaudeamus Festival 2023 playlist Please accept cookies to listen to the playlist
Festival / Concert

NONLINE Opera – Futurists

This concert has already taken place. Click here for our current concert programme.

In recent years Polish composer Jerzy Bielski has created completely unique theatrical and anarchistic performances for Gaudeamus, among others. He began his career with the eclectic 9-piece band Circuit, which sounded as if György Ligeti and members of the British ska group Madness had joined Frank Zappa’s band. He now returns with his company Futurists with NONLINE opera. A performance in which Jerzy Bielski and Thomas Brand bring the band back together to celebrate the return of live music, with a performance that partly resembles a concert and partly nothing at all.

NONLINE Opera is made possible by the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, Fonds21, BNG Cultuurfonds, Gaudeamus and the Eco Bike Project.

Jerzy Bielski – el. guitar, voice
Thomas Brand – video, light
Tatiana Rosa – flute, live electronics
Olga Siemienczuk – voice
Martijn Nieuwerf – actor
Matt Ellis Devitt – trumpet
Ed Babar – double bass, bass guitar
Zach McCullough – drums
Abel Tuinstra – piano, keyboards